Month: October 2010

  • Community

    This evening I got to be part of an incredible fellowship time with friends from around the world representing believers from Romania, Canada, USA, South Africa, Nigeria, Nicaragua…(sorry those I missed).  This group of people attend the Bucharest International Church.  So Many more countries make up this congregation (probably around 30 or so) and on Sunday mornings we raise our hands in worship to our Lord.  No matter what language we speak, what culture we come from, what backgrounds have formed our lives, we serve The One Lord in Christ Jesus.  Makes me think about when in Revelations where it says “After this I looked and there before me was a great multitude that no one could count, from every nation, tribe, people and language, standing before the throne and in front of the Lamb. They were wearing white robes and were holding palm branches in their hands. And they cried out in a loud voice: “Salvation belongs to our God, who sits on the throne, and to the Lamb.”  Oh how beautiful that day will be.  For now our times of worship together and fellowship together will be just a taste of something oh so greater and beautiful.  

  • Daily lessons on humility

    Acts 20:19(a) “I served the Lord with great humility and with tears”


    7:00 AM today arrived quickly as my roommates and I made our way down 4 flights of stairs to my car parked on the street only to find that I had accidently left the passenger side window open the entire night.  I gave thanks to God that nothing was stolen.  We made our way to the office fairly quickly as there was no traffic – again – giving thanks to God as this was not the day we could afford to be late.  Arriving at the office we loaded the vehicle with all of our supplies needed for the days outreaches in two different kindergartens.  Our theme today was to “be honest”.  We give thanks to God for this opportunity to share with the kids.  

     

    Our commute to the first kindergarten was perfect with no traffic problems and we arrived early with plenty of time to get our stage and props set up.  With 15 minutes to spare I decide to quickly use the restroom.  I enter a bathroom about the size of a very small closet, lock the door behind me,  do my business and proceed to exit only to realize quickly that the door will not unlock.  I try for a couple of minutes and I am aware now that I have a  big problem.  I attempt to get my colleague’s attention by pounding on the door and I thank God again that they come to my rescue.  15 minutes later the door finally is opened and I enter the hallway to over 10 construction workers staring at me. (they were all working on the school remodel)  All attempted to help.  I think there could be a joke in this somehow…. how many does it take to rescue a missionary from a locked bathroom…..  Okay let’s continue.  I arrive in the classroom just as we are ready to begin and we carry on teaching the kids for the next 30 minutes about being honest.   So much at this point to be thankful for.

     

    We make our way to the second kindergarten and set up and begin the same program.   The kids are excited and we are having fun.  Another lesson in humility comes my way as a 4 year old, very sweet, dear, little boy proceeds to correct my Romanian language.  I thank him and continue on.   All in all a great day, had tons of fun with the team and the kids.  

     

    It was certainly a day filled with humility and luckily no tears as the scripture verse says (however another 10 minutes in the bathroom and there just may have been tears, although I am not claustrophobic, this tiny room was getting smaller and smaller as time was passing)   

     

    I look back and can laugh about the entire situation.  Everyday for me is a lesson on humility as I continue to learn new things about the culture I now live in as well as learning new words every day and even 4 year olds are correcting me on my pronunciation.  I make mistakes every day on even the simplest things like how to correctly talk.  Humility is hard to swallow sometimes but I would much rather fall down while trying, get back up and continue… than to just stay still, do nothing – safe and with no risk of falling but I would never experience the extreme joy of serving God in this capacity.  Stepping out of our comfort zone and trying new things takes risks, humility and sometimes tears but in the end it is all worth it and for that I give total thanks to God.

     

  • Where no one desires to go

    After 15 months in the states and having nearly no opportunity to speak the language nor did I study (all at my own fault) I am quite rusty in my language speaking and listening skills.  Working very hard to get my ear back to listening to Romanian all the time.  Slowly it is coming back and with lots of hard work, studying and practicing I will continue to grow in my second language.   The first couple weeks here have been filled with unpacking all my stuff, washing all my clothes from being in storage, taking two weeks intense language studies daily and setting up my home.  I was thrilled to have the opportunity to participate in a children’s outreach in a neighborhood here in Bucharest we have never been to before but our team was so excited to partner with a Christian leader in the area to go to a place where most people do not desire to go to, mostly out of fear.

    Our contact and new friend, Robert and his wife and child arrive at our ministry center anxious and ready for us to work.  Robert’s story is remarkable, from what I understand of it.  At one time in his past he had been in jail and it was during his time in jail that he came to know the Lord and committed his life completely to serving Him.  He met a young man in jail and they became friends.  After they left jail Robert’s friend returned home, which is in the center of a very violent Gypsy, gang/mafia neighborhood.  Many live in fear in this area because of the violence.   At one time, in this man’s courtyard a gang fight took place and this young man’s life was cut short as a result.  The family asked Robert to come and do the funeral service.  It was at this funeral service that many people’s lives were touched by the power of our Lord Jesus Christ.  They were hungry and wanted more of what Robert spoke to them about.  Something so terrible and violent resulted in transformed lives and new hope.  Now every Saturday a small group meets at the very home where this violent death took place.  I’m reminded of Genesis 50:20 “You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives.”   

    I was so humbled as we pulled into this courtyard, parked our ministry van and began to unload the supplies, knowing the realization of what took place in the past in this exact location.  God was, of course, faithful to our prayers (and your prayers) and the rain stopped.  We worked around the mud and puddles to set up our puppet stage and sound system as children and adults began to arrive for their first ever children’s program.   Never once did any of us ever feel in danger as we knew that prayers were being offered up for our protection and God is faithful.   

    God never ceases to amaze me how He works in and through our weaknesses.  Although I fumbled and struggled with the language and got frustrated with myself at times,  God came through and everyone did a fabulous job in communicating our simple point that God loves us and forgives each and every one of us.  The kids enjoyed the puppets, clown skits, songs, object lessons and playing a game.  Even the adults joined in and played along with us.  We then all prayed.  

    As we packed up our supplies and began to load our van we were each handed an envelope with a handmade card and pin.  Alot of work went into making this for each of us and I was so moved at such generosity from one who has very little.  They looked at us and asked “will you come back?”  ”Of course we will” was our response.

    Please do pray for this neighborhood as many want to come to the small group meetings but many are afraid of the violence.  Please pray as we make plans to return often to this neighborhood that God will continue to work in the lives of children and adults through our programs and pray that God will raise up a leader in that area who will take on the ministry to the children and we can work along side of them to provide training and resources they need.  

    Here are a few pictures from this event.