January 28, 2010

  • Back to the Blog

    I want to send out a thank you to several who have expressed their disappointments that I had stopped writing on my blog.  I was shocked (seriously) that there were actually some out there that missed my updates and were following me.  So thank you for encouraging me to get back to the blog.

    Life has been a whirlwind these days, weeks, month.  As most have figured out I am back in America but only temporarily.  I have the privilege to travel all over and speak with groups to share what has been happening in this ministry to Romania as well as vision for when I return and needs to help me get back. 

    Since mid-June I have travelled over 17,000 miles (and to those who have experienced my driving in Romania please be assured I do not drive that way in America – when in Rome…),  I have spoken to nearly 60 groups so far, attended kids camps, had various meetings and the list goes on.  I don’t say all this to toot my horn but recently someone made reference to me having a “break” during my time here in US.  LOL.     While I have been thoroughly enjoying my time visiting with friends and family this is no break for missionaries.  I love being here but I MUST be back in Romania and for that to happen I need to work my tail off and present the needs of this ministry to wonderful folks like yourself who can be a part of what is happening to reach children and women in Romania.

    The most asked question I get asked is how long I am in states for?  Well that depends on raising my support to continue work.  I am currently at 69%.  For those who do not know what that signifies… In order for me to return to Romania I must raise all my monthly budget in the form of pledge commitments.   People/churches can pledge to support a certain amount on a monthly basis.  Once I receive enough pledge commitments to equal my monthly budget I can receive clearance and leave. 

    There are some other things that also must take place prior to my receiving clearance to leave.  I must also receive medical clearance.  In the past several months I have been poked at and have given so much blood for tests… well it’s been grueling.  I wish I could say all is excellent and that clearance has been received.  Reality is that I must now have a surgery (myomectomy) which I am praying will relieve the symptoms which have been plaguing me for years now.  This surgery is a good thing and I am looking forward to getting it taken care of.  I am scheduled for February 15th so for those who are praying please pray for this.  Currently the most pressing medical condition I am dealing with is getting my anemia in order prior to surgery.  I had been at a 6 which is dangerously low but through intense iron supplemens have raised to 11 which is better but still low and my surgeon would like to see better prior to surgery.  I am waiting for most recent blood tests to determine of addtional supplements have helped or I will need to receive iron infusion through IV.  thank you for your prayers.

    During my time here in States I have also been blessed to help my home church of Portland Christian Center with a phenomenal outreach called Upwards Basket Ball.  I have been so blessed seeing these precious children play their hearts out and so many people love on them.  I am proud to be a part of this outreach. 

    Well I suppose I can’t update 8 months of life in one blog update so I’ll end for now.  To the couple of you reading thank you and I so appreciate your prayers during this new season in my life and the many transitions I am making.

    Reaching His Children

    Tamara Henkes

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *