November 10, 2008

  • Be a light

    The week after the election is buzzing with lots of discussion here in Romania.  Everywhere I go I am asked about what I think of Obama.  Romanians are very curious and want to discuss this.  They are watching closely not only with the media to see what will take place as we make this crucial transition, but they are watching us.  Those I meet, know I’m an American and they want my opinion.  However, based on what I say, will they also know I am a Christian?  Will I be critical and complain because I didn’t get the president I elected?  Will I find every excuse to bash our new president?  The Bible says we are not to do that.  We are to be a light and to shine bright.  We are to pray for our elected officials.  And that is what I tell them.  I may have not voted for him but I will pray for him because he is now my president and that is my responsibility as a Christian.  Instead of getting a heated discussion, I want to give them something to think about and how we can move forward and challenge them to put their hope in Christ and pray for others. 

    Just finished a couple of outreaches this weekend.  Saturday our ministry team went to Glina, a small village just outside of Bucharest and we worked with a doctor who works at a health clinic in Bucharest.  He ran a little health clinic at the church to check teeth and other things.  While he did that our team played with the kids outside to keep their attention.  After the clinic we had a small program for the kids to talk about how God created us and we need to take care of our bodies. 

    Sunday we returned to do a full program.  Our program went something like this:

    Sang a song with kids

    puppets

    clown skit

    Taught them a Bible verse to memorize

    puppets

    Bible story about Jonah acted out 

    taught the message with illusion

    prayer

    hand out candy and more toothbrushes for those who didn’t receive one the day before.  Gotta brush those teeth after eating candy

    then handed out balloons

    It was a fun weekend but pretty tired though.

    Leaving tomorrow morning to drive to Greece.  yea I know rough.  But it is for work and not vacation.  I won’t have much, if any, free time to see anything.  I’m taking two days to drive there, and the four days are packed with meetings all day.  Please pray for these meetings.  We are getting together with our Europe leadership and a selected group of missionaries from around Europe to have a ‘think tank’ and discuss future of Europe missions.  Please pray for God’s direction in the conversation and to speak through us His missiona and passion for missions here in Europe. 

    Blessings

    Tamara Henkes

    www.henkes.ministryhome.org

     

Comments (1)

  • Amen sista about being a light! Have a great road trip to Greece…bless you as you sit in many meetings, I hope you enjoy tasty mediterannean food..and traditional greek coffee rocks!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *