November 10, 2008

  • Lord Help me!

    Oh the simplest of prayers yet the most powerful.  Coming from the mouth and heart of one exhausted, frustrated and frazeled girl.  If you haven’t figured it out yet, I’ve had a challenging day.  I can’t say that any one big thing happened.  It’s just a lot of little (and real insignificant) things.  I start out pretty good.  I have a house guest staying with me for the week so we get up and get ready.  I’m doing some office work and getting ready for meetings.  I’m even thinking I can make it on time to my meeting with our organization’s accountant.  We meet every Monday.  Oh by the way for those who don’t know, I’m also the field treasurer for our missions organization here in Romania.  Get to put my accounting degree to work.  I get in my car and head out.  Now driving in Bucharest is already extremely stressful as it is but I am nearly convinced that about another million new cars have arrived just this weekend and made it on the road in the past few days.  It was crazy.  Where did everyone come from?  I make it to the area where my meeting is as well as my language class and begin to search for a place to park.  Now it is nearly impossible to even begin to describe the parking situation here but it’s pretty much a free for all and nothing is sacrad – especially sidewalks.  After driving 20 minutes searching I’m praying for even a sidewalk to drive up on with a free space to park.  Nothing… and one cannot simply go around the block.  there are no clean blocks.  After another 10-15 minutes (I’m now 35 minues late) I find a place to park but it’s so far away I call Costel.  It’s 1:35 and I have language class at 2:00.  There would be no way to walk to the office, meet him and make my class.  He’s very understanding and had lots to do himself so it was fine.  We’ll meet next week. 

    So I go to language class and every time I’m greeted by the door man.  There are two and they alternate.  I get to practice my language and they love to chat so it works out well. One of them thought I was Italian for a while there, trying to practice his little Italian he knows until I finally asked him if he knew I was not Italian.  He was shocked.  He still likes to practice his few Italian words.  He’s fun to chat with.   The other one is fun to talk with on most days but sometimes I’m a little uncomfortable around him.  Today however, he was very drunk.  I normally smell a little but it was very bad today the smell nearly knocked me over.  I chat a little with him and then my day gets even better (hint of sarcasm there).  He tells me I’m not talking very well today.  I laugh as I really wanted to tell him that he’s probably not hearing too well today…. but I am a nice girl and keep my mouth shut.  I told him I’m having a stressful day and he says that after my language class today maybe I’ll come back to him speaking better.    gee thanks for the encouragement.  My language teacher cheers me up and I leave feeling better.  I don’t have time to chat with my friend but then again he’s not in much condition to talk either.  very sad, need to pray for him.  Alcoholism is high. 

    Packing now for a business trip to Greece.  I know it’s rough but actually not going to have much time to play, it’ll be all meetings so you can feel sorry for me  

    Please pray for safe travel

    Tamara

    www.henkes.ministryhome.org 

     

Comments (2)

  • I’ve had a day or two like this since I’ve been here…good times my friend! God bless your travels!

  • Oh, bummer! You hang in there, sister! Hey, don’t worry if you actually get to have a little free time in Greece… we know you are working hard! May our gracious heavenly Father bless your day today… and you always have a parking space at my house!

    Happy pre-birthday!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *