November 21, 2008

  • How I spent my birthday

    Okay, I know it sounds like I’ve been having lots of challenging days but then again I guess if one is doing work for the Lord you can expect the enemy to be on overtime.  Today was no exception especially as we are preparing Christmas material for children’s workers and tomorrow is a big conference we are leading.

    Actually in the end we were able to laugh about it.  Gotta laugh or else it’ll all drive you crazy.

    Morning started out well.  Went to language class and my teacher blessed me with a nice Birthday gift (yes today is my birthday)  Headed to the office to meet my colleague so we can finish our Christmas bulletin and make final preparations for the conference tomorrow.  Our bulletins are monthly emailings we do to over 400 children’s workers throughout the country providing teaching ideals, crafts, games etc.. which we write.

    So I arrive and my colleague is frazled.  Her day started out with the alarm at the office going off twice.  A new puppy we just adopted off the street got so scared it ran off and we can’t find it and we’re searching all over.  The power went off twice.  Anything electrical had problems.  Computers, no internet connection etc.  One thing after another was going wrong.  Oh yea, forgot to mention the virus attack. 

    So then Jan and I decide to take a break and get something to eat for my birthday.  I choose Turkish restaurant.  We drive down this street where there are three restaurants.  I’m trying to make a left hand turn on an insanely crazy street.   I’m in the middle of the intersection on the tram tracks and I look in my rear view mirror and there is the tramvai barreling down on me – okay overdramatized but it’s parked right on my tail waiting for me to get out of the way.  Finally a kind soul lets me in.  We drive up and down the street trying to find a place to park.  I’m noticing this is a common theme in my posts…. always searching for a place to park!  We decide to just hike it as we park a ways off.  We walk back to the main street and turn right only to have a street dog chase us in the other direction.  We try again and he chases us barking and showing all it’s teeth.  A man gets chased and pretty much everyone avoids this area we are not messing with him.  Okay, let’s see if we can find a restaurant in the other direction.  We walk and walk and walk and finally make it to another Turkish restaurant and because we’re a bit early (although they are open) they have hardly no food.  Very little selection so we choose the lamb.  It was surprisingly good.   However, as we are enjoying this wonderful mean we get a full view of the butchers mutilating the mean in the back.  It was not a lovely sight. 

    We then proceed to the grocery store to purchase items we need for the conference tomorrow.  Again, no place to park so we park in the McDonalds parking lot across the street.  Okay, we know technically we shouldn’t do this so then we absolutely must go in and buy an ice cream.  So we’re wondering if we can claim that as a business expense as a parking fee while purchasing stuff for a work conference?   I have finally made it home, pretty exhausted and know I have a huge day tomorrow and still so much to prepare for.  I pray God helps me with speaking Romanian!!!! 

     Don’t feel bad for me,,, I am planning a trip someplace to celebrate my birthday.

    Blessings and please pray for tomorrow

    Tamara

    www.henkes.ministryhome.org

Comments (3)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *