November 27, 2008

  • Thankful

    I am praying for a blessed Thanksgiving Holiday for each of you!  Today I get to spend time with about 35 Americans and Canadians here in Bucharest.  I’m preparing mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes and apple pie.  This is only my 2nd apple pie I’ve ever made from scratch so I am praying it turns out very yummy.

     

    What I am thankful for:

    1.  God’s unconditional love and mercy

    2.  Jesus Christ 

    3.  My family

    4.  My friends

    5.  The incredible privilege to serve here in Romania

    6.  Coffee

    7.  Beautiful Romanian language (although it’s driving me crazy to learn, it’s still a beautiful language)

    8.  Ministry opportunities God opens up work with children and women.

    9.  My home

    10.  My life

    Of course the list could go on and on…..  No matter how down we are, depressed, lonely, frustrated, discouraged etc… there are always things we can be thankful for and if we took the time everyday to list those and thank God for them, then it makes the difficult times more bearable.  Sometimes these things we are most thankful for gets buried in the busyness of life and the trials and tests we face daily.  Rather than allowing those challenging things to be on the frontline of our life, let’s put the things we are thankful for to the surface and forefront and our challenges won’t be so overwhelming. 

    Happy Thanksgiving my friends and may God’s bless you and may His face shine upon you!

    Tamara Henkes

    www.henkes.ministryhome.org

Comments (2)

  • Happy Thanksgiving!

  • Hello Ms. Henkes,
    You made your site simple yet elegant. I see that you have a strong desire to serve God. Now is a good time! I recommend the one true God, Jehovah. He has an important message for all of us: 1 And now, O ye priests, this commandment is for you. 2 If ye will not hear, and if ye will not lay it to heart, to give glory unto my name, saith Jehovah of hosts, then will I send the curse upon you, and I will curse your blessings; yea, I have cursed them already, because ye do not lay it to heart. (Malachi 2:1-2) (ASV)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *